E09: The Industrial Workers of the World in the US, 1918-1950s

E09: The Industrial Workers of the World in the US, 1918-1950s

Podcast episode about the later history of the revolutionary union the Industrial Workers of the World 1918-1950s. We went to Chicago to talk to our friend Warren to learn more about this little-known period in the union’s history.

If you haven’t heard it yet, listen to our first IWW episode, episode 6, here: https://libcom.org/library/wch6-industrial-workers-world-us-1905-1918
Support this podcast on patreon here: patreon.com/workingclasshistory
This is a playlist we compiled of IWW music: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL71HxBMvC6bxcbE373VUIFoIkZqqRVM79

FOOTNOTES

Here are links to source information and further reading on the topics discussed in this episode
– Industrial Worker archive libcom.org/library/industrial-worker-newspaper
– The One Big Union Monthly archive libcom.org/library/one-big-union-monthly
– They didn’t suppress the Wobblies – Fred Thompson https://libcom.org/history/they-didnt-suppress-wobblies-fred-thompson
– Blood on the coal: Colorado strike of 1927 – Patrick Murfin https://libcom.org/history/blood-coal-colorado-strike-1927-patrick-murfin– The IWW since 1932
– George Pearce libcom.org/history/iww-1932-george-pearce
– Cleveland Metal and Machinery Workers 440 Shop Bulletins https://libcom.org/history/cleveland-metal-machinery-workers-440-shop-bulletins– Educate, Organize, Emancipate: The Work People’s College and The Industrial Workers of the World https://tcorganizer.wordpress.com/2014/08/30/educate-organize-emancipate-the-work-peoples-college-and-the-industrial-workers-of-the-world/
– 1950: report from Cleveland metalworkers union calling on the IWW to comply with Taft-Hartley
https://libcom.org/library/1950-report-cleveland-metalworkers-union-calling-iww-comply-taft-hartley

PUBLICATIONS

The Wobblies in Their Heyday: The Rise and Destruction of the Industrial Workers of the World During the World War I Era by Eric Chester
At the Point of Production: The Local History of the I.W.W. Edited by Joseph R. Conlin.
From Syndicalism to Trade Unionism: The IWW in Ohio, 1905-1950 by Roy T. Wortman
The Communist Party and the Auto Workers Unions by Roger Keeran

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Music used in the episode under Fair Use is:
– There is power in the union – Joe Glazer – buy it online here: www.amazon.com/There-Power-Union/dp/B000S3FOSW
Edited by Jesse French