Solidarity & Revolutionary Unionism

47 posts / 0 new
Last post
Anonymous
Sep 16 2010 18:44
Solidarity & Revolutionary Unionism

I'd be quite interested to hear what people think the differences are, as I'm not convinced they're that big.

nastyned
Sep 16 2010 19:12

I've heard it said the American IWW's policy of solidarity unionism is close to the SolFed's policy of revolutionary unionism but I'm no expert on either.

klas batalo's picture
klas batalo
Sep 16 2010 19:25

i would say this is basically true. but that's personal capacity there. i definitely think of it as so. but yet again i am a US wobbly that reads a lot of libcom.

the iww's minority solidarity unionism is definitely a lot like it. confusing thing though is there are then also some who want to the union to become almost like a red trade union or have a revolutionary syndicalism/OBU fetish. the most exciting stuff though is the solidarity unionism stuff IMHO

some similar old discussion here:
http://www.anarchistblackcat.org/index.php/topic,2916.0.html

prec@riat wrote:
I mean I don't see too much difference between the "informal workplace groups" (discussed by Jean Weir and A.Bonnano in Workers Autonomy), the "faceless resistance" of the hip Swedes, or the "minority unionism" of Alexis Buss or the "solidarity unionism" of Stan Wier/ Staughton Lynd.
klas batalo's picture
klas batalo
Sep 16 2010 19:30