My Problem With The "Towards A Union Of Organizers" leaflet

120 posts / 0 new
Last post
syndicalist
Jun 20 2012 18:33

RedH, prolly a question which might've not been asked earlier, but I didn't.

Asked in a most repcectfully and comradely manner:
What's your vision of this? How does that play out in practice?

Quote:
RedH:

A simple alternative is to put one's organization forward as a group of similar workers who can support each other together and develop strategy together (and the article does mention a "workplace buddy" but this is still in the "organizer" framework).

RedHughs
Jun 21 2012 20:47

OK,

Let me back-up and say that I intended to comment on the leaflet itself rather than other things. I have no knowledge of what actual Organizer Trainings involve and so I couldn't offer any criticism of those (Hieronymous, who I respect considerably, and others certainly make them sound like fine things). If I let enthusiasm about critiquing the language of the leaflet spill over into criticizing "OT", apologies.

Further, I wouldn't dismiss the usefulness of learning skills. At the same time, it seems to me that any "organizing" process of modern labor is pretty much in its infancy and so a group today would do best to say it has some useful skills rather than the useful skills.

So let me just suggest that a term like "skill-share" might be a bit better than "training". Maybe it's just me that has some revulsion to words that sound too similar to corporate speak but what I imagine is that the most rebellious workers also have some resistance to being "trained".

John E Jacobsen wrote:
Also, I don't think anyone giving these trainings is stupid enough to believe there is only one possible list of skills that we know or could anticipate, or worse, that they and they alone possess it. Sorry you got that from the "tone" of the piece, I'm confident it wasn't meant to be communicated at all.