Education and Anarchism

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ya_Pasta
Nov 29 2011 23:09
Education and Anarchism

Hey everyone, I'm interested in the history, theory and practice of education in Anarchism, esp. the education of children.

Has anyone read the new book published by PM called Anarchist Pedagogies? Any other recommends? I just got the book by Suisa, which is interesting and seems good so far (haven't finished it)..

thanks for the tips

Ya_Pasta
Nov 29 2011 23:13

(ps, Admins: I'm new here. Is there any way I can change my username? It's lame and is annoying me!!)

Railyon's picture
Railyon
Nov 29 2011 23:29

Here's a first-hand account of education during the Spanish Civil War:

http://www.theanarchistlibrary.org/HTML/Manolo_Gonzalez__Life_in_Revolutionary_Barcelona.html#toc4

Sorry I can't help you out with more, was the first thing that sprung to mind.

qbbmvrjsssdd's picture
qbbmvrjsssdd
Dec 1 2011 04:20

That book looks interesting, I'm a tutor and I've been interested in experimental and non-hierarchical education for a while, but haven't looked too much into schools rooted in anarchist philosophy, I do know, though, that free skools are definitely good examples. But, I would assume that the teacher's position among their pupils is greatly diminished so that it's not such a unilateral relationship. The way that teaching is done in general is that the teacher dispenses knowledge and the students receive it. However in an "anarchist education" the teacher's role as the authority of knowledge would be reduced to merely the sharer of knowledge. Right now in general, too, the curriculum of the school is determined by the school authorities and the students have no say in the creation of the classes they are allowed to take. I think that one of the fundamental principles of an anarchist education would be that the children/pupils are given the opportunity to not only choose which classes are offered to them by the "faculty" but can also decide what classes they w