Work Place Issues

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
clm78
Jun 8 2015 22:09
Work Place Issues

Hello I've just joined this forum and I wish I'd known about this earlier. I think its a really great thing.

I have been teaching EFL mostly in Asia since 2009. I started looking for work in Europe and the UK to spend more time with my family.

I have had some bad experiences but even that didn't prepare me for some of the shady practices I've encountered here in the UK.

My first summer work placement last year involved being made self employed and paid a fee for a residential two week course. Once on sight I was regularly working 15 hour days with no days off. As you can imagine being responsible for the care of minors it wasn't the sort of work I could just walk away from. To add insult to injury our washing was taken to launder and they lost all of my clothes along with the centre managers.

One of the teachers left and they asked me to cover his ours which I did but when I asked for extra pay I was refused. I tolerated these conditions as I was desperate for money and to remain in the Uk and I was afraid of not being paid at all.

I started work for a different company which although temporary seemed to be much better. I was recently sent to a different centre with this company and they have started to radically change teachers pay and working conditions. In my last role I was one of only two staff onsite running a residential language programme. We are currently in dispute with the management and asking for more pay as we worked beyond the scope of our contract. Again once on site we were dragged into a lot of management issues and were under resourced and unable to take sufficient rest. It was quite ironic that I didn't even have pens to teach with but no expense was spared for two managers to come and visit us from London to pacify us during the 3 weeks course.