Dale Farm: Labour leader Ed Miliband supports evictions

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
wojtek
Sep 1 2011 18:24

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-14752048

I'm very ignorant on this matter and travellers generally, so what are people's views on what's happening at Dale Farm?

Picket's picture
Picket
Sep 1 2011 18:52

I have no special knowledge about this, but it does make me angry (as does the persecution/marginalisation of travellers generally). As far as I can tell from what I've read and the BBC documentary shown a while ago, a few wealthy locals are pissed off that these Irish travellers are having a negative effect on the value of their properties and have used their influence with the council to get them evicted from the land (which they actually purchased to live on) on the basis that it's a "greenfield" site. Actually it was a scrap yard before they moved on, apparently the scrap merchant who previously occupied the land had threatened the council that he would sell the land to them, if they didn't give him the planning permission he wanted (for his scrap yard).

The most vocal local is the rather unpleasant "property developer" Len Gridley who lives (alone, it seems) in a huge house with a large plot of land. On the BBC documentary it showed him speaking to one of the council officials about it, and the deference the official was showing to Gridley was palpable. Gridley does things like hiring helicopters to do fly-by photographic shootings of the travellers' site.

The travellers seem to have built a very strong community, a large extended family, really, and are understandably upset that this is now going to be destroyed...

Serge Forward's picture
Serge Forward
Sep 1 2011 21:18
Quote:

No surprise there.
And no fucking change.

Croy's picture
Croy
Sep 1 2011 22:30

I really hope this does not come as a shock to you wojtek, or anyone on these forums.

Wellclose Square
Sep 1 2011 22:47
the croydonian anarchist wrote: