Hierarchy and evolution

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
harrsool
Jul 1 2013 15:12
Hierarchy and evolution

Hi there,
I'm a recent graduate who is currently researching several theories of evolution and epigenetics in relation to the creation of hierarchies in humans. I am working for an author who believes that hierarchies in humans are not an innate evolutionary trait. Unlike other primates, the nature of the hierarchies humans sort themselves into are constantly contested (capitalism vs communism, toalitarian vs. democratic etc.). The book follows on from CHristopher Boem's "Hierarchy of the forest", in which Boem basically suggests that whilst gorillas and chimpanzees have rigid hierarchical structures, human beings in pre-agricultural societies don’t; more to the point, although there is a latent tendency for individuals to assert their Alpha Male status, the rest of the group form alliances of "the weak" to keep them in their place using a variety of strategies from ostracism to mockery in a system he calls "counter-hierarchical". Boem suggests, and this theory is backed up by other academics, that it was the invention of agriculture which caused the hierarchies to form. I could go into this in greater detail, but what I really want to know is whether anyone has read anything about this subject? Are there any studies on the effects of epigenetics or evolution and their affect on hierarchies? Or, indeed, any work, related to gentics or not, which focuses on the idea that hierarchies aren't innate?

Thanks for reading, sorry if i posted this in the wrong place.

H xxx

jolasmo
Jul 1 2013 16:16

Sounds interesting, not sure what the significance of epigenetics is here though? Maybe I'm missing something.

~J.

armillaria's picture
armillaria
Jul 1 2013 20:28

There are some interesting studies I've seen that show how wolves really only have prominent alpha-male setups when they're in captivity.
http://www.mnforsustain.org/wolf_mech_dominance_alpha_status.htm